WEMBLEY 1998: AFC Bournemouth lose out to Grimsby Town with golden goal winner

By -

This weekend we are playing Premier League champions Chelsea. Eighteen years ago we were playing Grimsby Town in our one and only appearance at Wembley.

On the 19th April 1998, Jimmy Glass, Neil Young, Jamie Vincent, Eddie Howe, Ian Cox, John Bailey, Russell Beardsmore, Steve Robinson, Christer Warren, Mark Stein and Steve Fletcher lined up on the hallowed turf of Wembley to take on Grimsby Town on the Auto Windscreens Trophy. John Bailey became the only AFC Bournemouth player to ever score at Wembley.

AFC Bournemouth 1 v Grimsby Town 2 | Sunday 19th April 1998

When Grimsby Town get a mention we cannot think of anything else (apart from this) than Supa Fletch getting his unforgetable goal to keep us in the Football League back in 2009. Still sends shivers down my spine.

Tales From The South End

An Unofficial AFC Bournemouth website with news, video archive, match reports, form guide, football league news, fixtures and results, blog and Cherries shrine

Leave a Reply